Damn genetics…..

I have this horrible feeling, which my doctor confirmed, that I have not been spared the gentic mishaps of my siblings. On thursday I head down to the audiology center at UCSF to have my hearing checked. Please note: my family has SEVERAL cases of Usher’s Syndrome. I thought, perhaps, I had been lucky and missed the genetic “oppsy daisy” of the disorder. However, my sight is gettng weaker, causing for new glassess being needed every 6 months or so and to tell you the truth, I have noticed I am asking people to repeat themeslves a lot.

of course, I could just be paranoid, espcially since I am losing my job (oh yes, I will get to that later.) but it would be quite difficult to adjust to something this severe this “late in life”. wow, I can’t believe I said late in life about being in my mid-30s. but I digress.

In reality, I am not really sure how I would be able to handle Ricky. I want to be able to teach him to play baseball and soccer. I want to watch him grow. I want to always hear that giggle he does.

So here is my question for the world: is it better to be blind? or deaf?

4 Responses to “Damn genetics…..”

  1. Dory Says:

    Oh hon… just a couple days ago you said you thought you dodged that bullet. 😦
    I’m almost Deaf. It’s not so bad. I think being blind would be much worse.

  2. Liz Says:

    It’s never better to lose a sense, but it would be tragic to lose your sight. I know I could never live if I couldn’t see my family and best friends.
    I think, as hard as it is, you must remain positive. Maybe your vision and hearing issues are just the slight effect of Usher’s Syndrome running in your family and your senses won’t get to that point. Genetics are weird things [and I didn’t pay too much attention in biology].

  3. Shigeta Says:

    R-I don’t know what to say. I am thinking of you though.

    πŸ™‚ I like your haircut!

  4. fog city mommy Says:

    I dodged my bullet!!!!

    woooot!!!

Leave a Reply

