another meme?

Where have my standards of refusing to do them gone to? however, since I am a geek inside, and I saw this on Here in Idaho…. couldn’t resist:

Bold those you’ve read.
Italicize books you have started but couldn’t finish.
Add an asterisk* to those you have read more than once.
Underline those on your TBR list.

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Crime and Punishment
Catch-22
One Hundred Years of Solitude
Wuthering Heights

The Silmarillion
Life of Pi: A Novel
The Name of the Rose
Don Quixote
Moby Dick
Ulysses

Madame Bovary
The Odyssey
Pride and Prejudice
Jane Eyre
A Tale of Two Cities

The Brothers Karamazov
Guns, Germs, and Steel: the Fates of Human Societies
War and Peace
Vanity Fair
The Time Traveller’s Wife
The Iliad
Emma

The Blind Assassin
The Kite Runner
Mrs. Dalloway
Great Expectations *
American Gods
A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
Atlas Shrugged

Reading Lolita in Tehran
Memoirs of a Geisha*

Middlesex
Quicksilver
Wicked : The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West ***(one of my favorites I might add)
The Canterbury Tales
The Historian
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Love in the Time of Cholera
Brave New World*
The Fountainhead
Foucault’s Pendulum
Middlemarch
Frankenstein
The Count of Monte Cristo

Dracula
A Clockwork Orange

Anansi Boys
The Once and Future King
The Grapes of Wrath

The Poisonwood Bible
1984*

Angels & Demons*

The Inferno
The Satanic Verses
Sense and Sensibility
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Mansfield Park
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

To the Lighthouse
Tess of the D’Urbervilles
Oliver Twist
Gulliver’s Travels
Les Misérables*

The Corrections
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Dune*
The Prince

The Sound and the Fury
Angela’s Ashes*** (met and had a beer with Frank McCourt when I was 24. one of the highlights of my 20s)

The God of Small Things
A People’s History of the United States : 1492-Present
Cryptonomicon
Neverwhere
A Confederacy of Dunces
A Short History of Nearly Everything
Dubliners*
The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Beloved
Slaughterhouse-Five
The Scarlet Letter* (all time fave here. relate too much too hester for my own good. freaked out my english teacher in 11th grade by writing apoem about it.)

Eats, Shoots & Leaves
The Mists of Avalon*
Oryx and Crake
Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
Cloud Atlas

The Confusion
Lolita
Persuasion
Northanger Abbey
The Catcher in the Rye* (ahhhh…. holden my friend….)
On the Road
The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Freakonomics
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
The Aeneid
Watership Down

Gravity’s Rainbow
The Hobbit
In Cold Blood

White Teeth
Treasure Island
David Copperfield
The Three Musketeer

you can say it. I am a total nerd.

6 Responses to “another meme?”

  1. Average Jane Says:

    Thanks! I borrowed it for my own blog today. 🙂

  2. maddii Says:

    I’ve read so many books over the years, I get through 1 a week that I’m not sure I could even remember all the titles, I’m a bit hopeless like that.

  3. Siobhan Says:

    You had a beer with Frank McCourt!! I love that book/movie!

  4. fog city mommy Says:

    yup. he was a totally nice guy too. Sean and I were at the Blareny Stone on Geary and he walked in and asked to sit with us because the place was hopping!

  5. Dory Says:

    I stand in admiration of your reading list.
    *curtsies daintily*

  6. fog city mommy Says:

    I told you all I am a total nerd. you would have never thunk it, eh? lol…

Leave a Reply

