It’s the great earthquake Charlie Brown!

I love it’s the great pumpkin charlie brown. I tivo and watch it EVERY YEAR! I LOVE IT! i think it’s becuase some of the best memories I have with my dad is when he would bundle the kids up and we would sit downstairs in blankets watching it the night before Halloween. So of course I was UBER excited to have ricky, who is now “aware enough” to enjoy it, watch it with me. and it’s the 40th anniversery baby!!!

Ricky and I curl up on the couch, bundled, with Linus in the bedroom working (time zones and all). the show begins. we are totally into it when… the room starts shaking. LITERALLY.

Oh yes, Earthquake. 5.6 to be exact. 12 seconds or so. I get up with Ricky, run to the nearest doorframe. having been born and raised in SF and california, I am used to quakes. I know what to do, where to go and everything needed. However, I have never lived in a house that was built in the 1920s. This quake hit, and man did it HIT. I literally was able to see the ceiling rolling. standing in the doorframe something dawned on me, as the shaking slowed. there is no way that a house this old would have good doorframes to stand under. fuuuuuuck.

Linus, of couse, like a jackass, is running for the door screaming we need to get out. If I recall correctly, that is exactly what he did in 89 as well. the trembling stops and I am at the front door when psycho comes to his door.

“I’ll check the gas,” he says.

“do we need to leave?” I am still holding ricky on my hip.

“i’ll let you know.”

ricky and I settle down to continue to watch It’s the great pumpkin. at about 810, the news interrupts. sigh. in the end, with all the interruptions, we saw maybe about 15 minutes or so.

maybe next year.

Earthquakes are interesting but part of life here. just like on the east coast there are hurricanes and the midwest has their tornados… well, at least they have warnings.

7 Responses to “It’s the great earthquake Charlie Brown!”

  1. Dory Says:

    I own the Charlie Brown Christmas, but not the Great Pumpkin. If I did, I’d send ya a copy.

  2. Missy Says:

    I am not used to such things as earthquakes (cyclones, on the other hand, yes) therefore if I do make it to BlogHer08, you need to inform SF to keep that stuff to the bare minimum. Cheers.

  3. Average Jane Says:

    Yeah, we get pretty blase about the tornadoes in the Midwest, but that’s mostly because they mostly hit way outside the city (and there’s warning, as you said).

  4. adventuremom Says:

    We love that movie at our house too. DVD is great but then I get to watch it about 1-25 times around this time 🙂 E-mail me your address and I will send you a copy. I am so glad you are up and around. Hope you are feeling better.

  5. Carrie Says:

    Never a dull moment, huh?

    Glad all is going well and you’re home.

  6. Shigeta Says:

    Glad you are feeling better R and glad Linus is there to “watch” you

  7. fog city mommy Says:

    AM- thank you! it’s ok though. I think I will wait till next year to let ricky watch it. next is the grinch though (the cartoon, not the shitty jim carrey one)

Leave a Reply

