Boobs

It’s cold in SF right now and rainy as well. the fog has come into play with tourists and automobiles. it’s a perfect SF night. and Ricky gave me my moment of sheer laughter and joy tonight while walking home from day care. We live near the golden gate. In fact, I can see it from my house. it’s magestic. it’s giagantic. it’s amazing. when the fog rolls in, it looms out of it like a gaurdian to my lovely city. it protects us.

walking home tonight I was marvling at the sight to my neighbor Elaine (who was with us) when Ricky pointed up and said, “Boob.”

Hmm…. ok then.

“no honey that’s the bridge.”

“BOOB!!!” says my little man, a little more defiantly.

“honey that’s the bridge. it’s big isn’t it?” I say to Ricky, hoping to hell he doesn’t make some sort of Stewie like comment about the size of my rather large tits.

“BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOB!!!” Now he is pointing and straining and clapping his hands at the bridge. I look at Elaine. she’s as bewildered as I am. Every minute or so as we walked Ricky chants “boooooob!” and claps with sheer hysterical laughter. I just don’t get it.

All of a sudden it dawns on me what the hell is going on. I come to a complete stop. Elaine had taken a few more steps and paused to look back at me.

“rach, are you coming?”

I ignore her.

“rach, are you ok with–”

“Shhhhh!!!!!” I hush her quiet holding up one finger to her in the typical “hang on a second” fashion. I wait, head cocked like a dog listening.

I hear it.

Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop

“booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooob!!!!”, cackles ricky clapping his hands.

Much like church bells in my neighborhood, some noises you barely notice after awhile because they are always there. in this case, the fog horns on the bridge. or as ricky calls them?

Boobs.

5 Responses to “Boobs”

  1. Tom Says:

    I LOVE the way that kid thinks!!

  2. ilovemyredhead Says:

    hahah! love it! “BOOOOOOOOOOB”

  3. Dory Says:

    *still giggling*

    That was friggin’ awesome! Go Ricky!

    I wore my hearing aid today when we went to pick up the kids from school. Usually I only wear it when I hafta, but I forgot to put it away, and I don’t take it out when I’m out and about, lest I lose the $1500 POS. Anyway. We’re in the car and Tom’s driving and I hear this noise, and I start checking to make sure the window’s up, and looking for leaks and/or aliens, and trying to figure out WTF it is that I’m hearing. So I sez, WTF is that I’m hearing? (don’t worry, the kids weren’t in the car yet) and two minutes later we figure out that it’s the heater fan.

    Shit. That was so much funnier in my head. Guess you hadta be there. Dammit.

    Go visit my house. I want to share with you my wonderful, awesome, no-bad, very good day.

  4. Stefani Says:

    I wish I had a view of the Golden Gate bridge from my house. I live in the suburbs here in California and can only see houses from mine.

  5. City Girl Says:

    When I read this I thought, “That’s cute.”

    Then yesterday evening I found myself retelling the story to a group of “Awww!”-ing women.

    Clearly this little tale got to me. Thanks! :o)

Leave a Reply

