Suggestions?

My brother Linus… he’s getting married.

the problem with this is kind of simple. he lives in eastern europe. for Ricky and I to fly there next summer will be pricey. in fact, it’s something I can’t afford.  believe it or not… my OH-SO-GLAMMEROUS Job doesn’t pay as well as you would expect.

Today he calls to tell me darla (his fiancee) wants to get married in her hometown… SYDNEY. Holy cow. I thought it was expensive to fly to the czech republic? it’s FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS to get ME AND RICKY to sydney. I can’t do that. I am barely surviving here as it is. and of course, Linus is say, “If you really loved me you would come.” Ok, he’s not REALLY saying that but you know he’s thinking it!

SO now I am selling DVDs, CDs, Furnitaure, Clothing, and quite possibly my soul… all to get to a freaking wedding!!!

anyone have any other suggestions? because I have another wedding in vancouver in September (which I am in) and now this! and I need the car tuned up (badly!) and I wanted to go to blogher. I think blogher might have to be given up.

I am totally bummed.

oh yes… and voting closes in a few hours on the contest

6 Responses to “Suggestions?”

  1. Farrell Says:

    Um….I know he’s your brother and stuff, but uh…if you don’t have the money, you don’t have it.

  2. Tom Says:

    Your brother Linus knows that you’re broke right? Anyone that says (or thinks) “If you loved me you would…” doesn’t truly care about you. If you can get the money, go. If you can’t feasibly get the money for that and still go to the one that you already agreed to, then don’t go. Not everybody can afford to go Australia and the brother should, and probably does, understand.

    That’s my feeling about it.

  3. fog city mommy Says:

    yeah, I know. it’s just my baby brother and he is the one who is the most successful of us all money wise.

  4. Tami Says:

    Farrell and Tom said it exactly. If I were in your situation, I wouldn’t go. He needs to understand.

  5. Liz Says:

    I know it’s frowned upon to not attend wedding of siblings, but that price tag and the facts it’s like 15 hours of flying and Ricky is a toddler entirely allow for you to miss it. (Not to be rude or anything, I just think Ricky will probably get very bored and cranky with all the sitting. I know I would.)

  6. Missy Says:

    As far as BlogHer goes, I have a suggestion that someone gave me: how about looking in a BlogHership? Volunteers get a discount or conference fee for free or something.

    Another suggestion I was given was to put a donation button on your site. It probably won’t get you a plane ticket to Australia, but it might get you a drink at BlogHer! Every little bit helps.

Leave a Reply

