Dumb Dumb Dumb

Tonight, I pulled an idiot SF move. I was driving through a neighborhood to my favorite little coffee shop. It’s not really in a convenient place for Ricky and myself to go to, but it’s funky, Ricky likes it, and I can relax and watch Ricky with pride. I wasn’t really thinking, I just was driving. So imagine my surprise when I get to the cross street and said neighborhood café (simple pleasures for you SF folk), was GONE.

I mean it was GONE GONE!

I stopped at the stop sign for 37th and just thought, “Um… where is the neighborhood?” The neighborhood has a bunch of funky little shops, the balboa theater; metered parking… this was a quiet residential neighborhood. No shops. No theater. No NOTHING.

I had to pull over. I know this café has been around for over 30 years. I grew up coming here after school for coco and tea with my nutty friends. How the hell is it possible that it has disappeared? That, let alone the whole damn shopping area. Ricky softly says, “mooooooommmmmmmmy?” as if he is trying to figure it out as well.

It was like the twilight zone. I know the café was there. I know that it’s usually a funky, hip little neighborhood. I know that it’s impossible for a café and neighborhood to disappear in the blink of an eye and be replaced by homes with fences and yards and trees.

I am lost and confused when I look up and realize I am on the wrong street. I want to be one block up.
how long have I lived in this city again? Did you hear that smack? That was the thud of my hand hitting my forehead with my homer Simpson D’oh!

Dumbfuck.

Please join us in the Campaign against Youtube.  It’s a really serious cause!!!

One Response to “Dumb Dumb Dumb”

  1. mom2amara Says:

    That’s ok. I always pull an idiot tourist move. I used to live in Chicago so I always rave about this restaurant or this store. I went one weekend and was looking for a great little restaurant. Couldn’t find it. I asked around and a nice man told me it had closed. Closed? What? But it was just there, right? Uh no, it had closed four years prior. Oops.

Leave a Reply

