The sisters arrive, part one

Siblings.  Oh how they can shock you at times.

I admit that when my older sister Katie said she had a surprise for me I was not exactly thrilled.  I am not a person who is really big on surprises.  And knowing Katie, it’s something weird.

This being said, I picked her up from the airport late Friday night.  I am used to waiting for her to come off the plane.  She walks with a cane because of her sight and it stands out.  It’s hot pink and has eagle feather dangling from it.  I really didn’t expect anything different when I was waiting for her this time either.

Imagine my surprise when she came walking over to where I was with a STROLLER.  Here is Katie, bustled under her jacket and hat with her cane and a stroller.  Instantly I think, “what?  Why?  Huh?”  There is no baby in the stroller.  Is this for Ricky?

Then comes behind her a tall Japanese man, holding a baby!  Katie hugs me and introduces me to her HUSBAND and DAUGHTER.

That clattering noise you just heard was my jaw hitting the ground.

Stay tuned.  Iris arrives next.

5 Responses to “The sisters arrive, part one”

  1. Liz Says:

    That’s one heck of a surprise. Congrats on being an Aunt!

  2. Siobhan Says:

    Oh my gosh!

  3. A Says:

    That is an incredible surprise! Congrats to the new additions to your family!

  4. Rachel Says:

    Wow! Instant brother in law for you, instant cousin for Ricky!

  5. SHA Says:

    Whoa. I mean whoa.
    My uncle did that to my mom and her siblings. Twice. One of them went over to his house and there was a baby in the living room. When asked who’s it was, he replied, “Mine.” Couple of years later, he did it again.

Leave a Reply

