My darling Supertiff…

My darling SuperTiff

let me first of all say what needs to be said: you are braver then you believe, stronger then you seem and smarter then you think….

My thoughts on turning thirty are simple: in your twenties, you act out. you try to figure out who you are. you do what you think you need to do. you rebel.

In your 30s: you discover who you are. what you are made of. and that no matter what life throws at you, be it dog shit or happiness, you realize your reflexes are faster then you thought.

my dear,

this is my wish for you: comfort on difficult days, smiles when sadness intrudes, rainbows that follow the clouds, laughter to kiss your lips, sunsets to warm your heart, hugs when your spirits sag (from california of course!!), beauty for your eyes to see, friendships to brighten your being,  faith so you can believe, CONFIDENCE for when you are in doubt, courage to know yourself, patience to accept the truth and love to complete your life.

my thirties have been rough, my teens were rougher.  being half way through my 30s now, if I can offer you one word of advice it would be simply this (and I am sure you recognize it and I recall reading that you liked that musical.  while not my favorite, I have lost many friends to HIV so this 35 year old generation X’er can relate)

No other path, no other way…No day but today.

Happy 30th birthday my dear.  may you have 60 or more yet to come!

Be well and I will see you in July,

Rachel.

Tags:

One Response to “My darling Supertiff…”

  1. supertiff Says:

    thank you, thank you, thank you.
    i’m busy crying right now, so that’s all i can say.

Leave a Reply

