“Home is where you can say anything you please, because nobody pays any attention to you anyway”

Rick has been sick the past few days.  I, of course, have to work.  You can’t send a sick child to preschool.  you can’t send him to day care.

Enter my mother.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my mother.  She raised the 8 of us after my dad died while working as a Secretary in a law office in SF.  about 7 years ago she married Wolf (not kidding, that is his name.  in fact the only name changed in my blog is my brother Owen.  the rest of the people are the same.)  Wolf is a nice guy.  He’s also wealthy, which puts my mom in a place where she doesn’t really have to do anything anymore.  She sits at home in Oakley, a middle of nowhere place in the east bay, in her giant house and gardens.  Hey, she’s 72!  let her be, right?

well, having all this money has made her a little out of touch with reality.  She wants to go to Spain.  She wants all the kids and grandkids to join her for her birthday in Madrid.  She has no idea that Iris has been laid off, there is all sorts of problems with Clem’s health, John and Matt just bought a house (in berkeley no less!) , and linus knocked up his fiancee.

Gas is 4.55 a gallon.  Rent is going up (nevermind rent control, it still sucks). Sean was injered at work so he is off work and not paying for Ricks’ preschool.  the world is going to hell in a handbag, but let’s all go to Madrid!

John asked me why don’t I just live somewhere cheaper with better work?  Easy to say for a lawyer.  the problem is, this is my home.  I don’t know anything else.  even the annoying mother and step father make life here home.

oh, there is more to this entry but I am tired and will come back to the bitching at a later date…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

