It’s a beautiful day for a white wedding

Rick didn’t go to pre-school today.  Instead, we went to the steps of City Hall here in our lovely city and watched the happy couples get married.  they beamed, they glowed and it was as if you could feel the joy in the air as couple after couple came out of city hall married.  some had been together a few years, some over fifty five.

gay marriage has come to California and I am proud to call this lovely city my home.

Here is the thing: people are complaining that God would never want this “abomination” to take place.  bible thumpers everywhere are screaming and up in arms that God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve.  I myself am a practicing Catholic.  I believe that Jesus is my savior.  I go to Mass two times a week.  I pray the rosery at night.  HOWEVER, God believed in love.  LOVE.

I would like to tell you about  couple I know.  they have been together since they were 20.  In fact, they met on their 20th birthday at a joint bday party in college.  Being born on the same day (sept 21st) was something they found to be faith.  One was jewish, the other catholic.  as their relationship progressed they saw the best and worst of times together.  Parents died, jobs were won, jobs were lost.  On 9-11 they were separated as one worked in the towers and another in Brooklyn.   Luckily, after a few days, they found each other again and they clung to each other.  One still goes to temple, the other to church.  they have seen babies born, they have seen friends die.  one had cancer, the other shaved their head when they lost the hair due to chemo.  they stayed up together through the illness.  for 23 years they have been each other’s pillars.

I love my brother John.  I love his partner Matt.  they found their homes in one another and they are each others worlds.  They have two boys, twins, age 13.  I love my nephews and they love “pops and dad”.  And this week, all of them are moving to berkeley.  and in two weeks, I will proudly stand by their side as they announce to the world that they love each other and take their wedding vows they have waited over two decades to be “given permission” to do.

love makes a family.  love makes a home.  I don’t care if the Bible thumpers think it’s wrong, this is one catholic who thinks that her family has found love and god agrees with that.

Don’t forget what John stated in 19:67:

“all you need is love.”~John

for love is all you need.

Tags:

3 Responses to “It’s a beautiful day for a white wedding”

  1. SF MOm of One Says:

    And Amen, Sister. (OK, that’s more Baptist than Catholic)
    And don’t forget the great treatise on love in First Corinthians—part of it goes like this:
    Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

  2. slosydney Says:

    Ah, St. John. Love is all you need.

    Sometimes life can only be expressed through Beatles songs.

    Our friends are getting married at my parents’ house soon. They’ve been together 20 something years and have raised some wonderful children together. Wish I could be there to celebrate with them but alas, it’s on the other side of the world. 😦

  3. Siobhan Says:

    I’m very happy for your brother and Matt

Leave a Reply

