‘Til kingdom Come

Hold my head inside your hands
I need someone who understands
I need someone, someone who hears
For you I’ve waited all these years

Waking up is no fun.  Early in the morning, it’s just not thing that I like to do.  Actually, I don’t think anyone likes getting up in the morning.  However, about two years ago, I bought an alarm clock that would play a CD when I woke up.  I never used the CD player until recently (as in the last 6 months)

I created a CD that would help me get up.  It starts really slow and quiwt and works its way to loud ska music.  In fact, I know that if I hear any dropkick Murphy starting I have been in bed half an hour out of the CD and really, it’s time to get up.

Rick wakes up after me.  I am sure he takes longer because he’s only three, but I never t hought anything og the CD I played.  Until this afternoon that is.  This afternoon Rick was cranky.  Very cranky.  He kept pointing at my dresser and crying.  I grabbed his book off of it.  No, he didn’t want it.  I grabbed his juice box.  Nope, not interested.

Finally I grabbed the CD off the dresser.  Rick started clapping and pointed to the clock.  I put the CD in and Coldplay’s Kingdom Come started to play.  Rick cackled and reched for me.  When we settled on the bed, Rick started rocking in my lap to the music.  He was humming.  When the song ended he looked up and simply said, “mommy.”

For you I’d wait ’til kingdom come
Until my day, my day is done
And say you’ll come and set me free
Just say you’ll wait, you’ll wait for me

Tags: ,

One Response to “‘Til kingdom Come”

  1. Siobhan Says:

    coldplay ❤

Leave a Reply

